Google Chrome: Could Not Load Shockwave Flash

I recently started getting this error on my MacBook, but had no idea why.  I hoped it would fix itself with a Chrome update or something, but that never happened.  I didn’t really mind since the only change to me was that the fan on my MacBook Air wasn’t kicking in whenever I was on a site with a Flash ad.

This finally affected me negatively when I was trying to upload some photos to print at Walgreens.com.  I got the yellow error banner stating, “Could Not Load Shockwave Flash.”  After delving into the issue, I discovered this fix:

  1. In the address bar, go to chrome://plugins
  2. If you have the same issue I did, you should see “Flash (2 files)…” listed.  When you click the Details button in the top-right corner to expand all the entries, you should now see two entries under the “Flash (2 files)…” heading.
  3. Disable the Flash plugin internal to Chrome (the Location entry should be something like /Applications/Google Chrome.app...
  4. Refresh your page!

31 thoughts on “Google Chrome: Could Not Load Shockwave Flash”

  1. I’ve been having the same problem on my MacBook! I have completed these steps but still keep getting the error message… Please help!

      1. yes, and i’ve disabled this one: “Applications/Google Chrome.app/Contents/Versions/21.0.1180.89/Google Chrome Framework.framework/Internet Plug-Ins/Flash Player Plugin for Chrome.plugin” and left the other one enabled, but still getting the error message… I’ve even tried disabling the other one and leaving this one enabled… Nothing seems to fix the problem. :/ Thanks for the reply btw!

      2. This is the one that I have enabled:

        Name: Shockwave Flash
        Description: Shockwave Flash 11.4 r402
        Version: 11.4.402.265
        Location: /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/Flash Player.plugin

        It is the one that installed from Adobe, not the one that comes with Chrome.

      3. Sorry, not sure what to tell you then… Which version of OS X are you running? I think version 22 was just released. Hopefully that will fix things…

  2. Thanks a LOT man!! I was moving all the plugins, desactivating and activating others, but never worked well. Now everything is like before. =D

  3. I couldn’t find the solution in my chrome for the same issue. I am using win7 . However, I think chrome updated my adbobe flash version to …Chrome\User Data\PepperFlash\11.7.700.225\pepflashplayer.dll verson 11.7.700.225 is for mac and 224 is for windows. I am not being able to change the version even when i tried to uninstall chrome flash version, later found out that you can only disable it…now i am in a limbo. Don’t know how to fix this problem… any help??

    1. Sorry, I haven’t encountered this issue on Windows. Did you try re-installing Chrome and/or Flash?

  4. I am having this issue as well, but when I go to the plugins, I only have one one flash file (not two). Can you help me out?

  5. I’m getting this error too and it just started doing it today. Yesterday it was fine. I did as you said and I don’t see anything named Shockwave Flash, although that’s what the message is saying, “Could not load Shockwave Flash.” The only thing I can think of that might have something to do with this is Adobe Flash Player. I only have one file of Adobe Flash Player and upon disabling it, it gets rid of the error message but doesn’t get rid of the problem. Simply nothing comes up. I do however have 2 files of Java(TM) and 7 files of QuickTime Player?? If these may be the problem, which ones do I disable?

    1. Do you know what version of Chrome you are using? You can find out by opening the Chrome menu (the three lines in the upper-right corner), clicking “Settings,” then clicking “Help” on the left side. I think 33 should be the latest version.

Leave a comment